Christmas CHOICE

I struggle with Christmas. I don’t like to admit it but it’s true. Christmas and I have this adore/despise relationship that really had me down until I fully embraced the power and freedom I have in a beautiful thing called CHOICE.

You see I can allow myself to be covered in a weight of expectations- the perfect Christmas family photo, all the right gifts at the right price, the decorations up and tree lite by x date in December, and the list goes on.  There is a lot to do at this time of the year, I think everyone would agree to that. But doing it from under the enormous weight of expectation or even the guilt of  “well, we have to” is not fun. It’s NO GOOD- it feels empty, cold and leads no where but to disappointment…for all involved.  How’s that for some Christmas cheer!?..

That’s where I’ve been, but then yesterday CHOICE began to lighten my load. I have a choice here.  Christmas can look like whatever I want it to. This year the Christmas cards may not get done, or if they do they may have a not-so-great self taken shoot in the front yard, but that’s ok. You know what,  it’ s better than ok, it’s US. It’s where we are right now. It’s who we are right now.

I am not a helpless victim of traditionalism or consumerism. I have a choice in what goes into our Christmas.

My children are young, so for them I am still inventing Christmas- The Perry Christmas. And that’s EVERYTHING to them. They won’t remember if all the decorations were up or even what presents they got, but what they will remember is the joy of celebrating a wonderful time of the year with a Mommy and Daddy that love them dearly.

Ya’ gotta figure out who you are and what’s important to you. I’m doing that, and then with joy I am pursuing this holiday season.

And in doing so, I am making an influence on my children that will last a lifetime.

Wanna’ join me?

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Christmas CHOICE

  1. Great perspective! I needed this today too.

  2. Sheila

    Perfectly said. Take time to enjoy this season with your family. Don’t rush it because it goes by too fast already. I love you my daughter-in-law!

  3. Pingback: Christmas Choice In-Action « All Things New

Leave a comment